
Sorry for the delay in getting you this information. Regarding the 

conversation at our last meeting about the appropriate clock re-start 

after stoppages of play I apologize for confusing the correct 

interpretation. For those of you who were not present, the conversation 

centered around when the clock on the field should be re-started after a 

stoppage of play when the game clock has been stopped. In all instances, 

the clock shall be re-started when the ball is properly put into play. 

(Rule 7, Sect. 4, Art. 2) 

 

In the various re-starts we discussed it is important to know that the 

clock re-starts when the ball is in play and not when the whistle is 

blown to allow the re-start to begin.  For instance: 

  

Free Kick - when the ball has been moved in any direction. (if taken by 

the defending team within its own penalty area the ball is NOT in play 

until it is beyond the penalty area) 

Goal Kick - when the ball has been moved and has left the penalty area. 

Corner Kick - when the ball has been kicked and moved. 

Throw-in: when the ball has left the hands of the thrower and any part of 

it breaks the plane of the touchline. 

Penalty kick - when the ball has been moved forward.   

  

The discussion continued as we looked at a situation where a penalty kick 

was awarded with 3-4 seconds left in the game. Based on the clarification 

above, the game clock should not be started until the ball is in play 

(when it has been moved forward by the kicker). This means there are 

still 3-4 seconds for a rebound from the keeper or off of the goal to be 

played again. If the ball is legally replayed from a rebound and it 

crosses the goal line between the goal posts before time expires then the 

goal is good. If it doesn't, the goal is nullified. With 3-4 seconds left 

for a PK it is probably a good idea to have both officials in close 

proximity to the goal (there is very little chance of a quick 

counterattack back toward the trail official's goal). Better to be in a 

position help rule on the PK.  

  

Another situation to consider is if a foul occurred inside the penalty 

area just before time expired and the official blew his whistle as time 

was expiring. When a foul occurs during time IN, that does not mean when 

the whistle blows for the foul, that means when the foul occurred. Time 

can be extended for the taking of a penalty kick (Rule 7, Art. 5, 

Exception). If time runs out during the PK , it is treated as if it were 

a shot for the penalty point during a tie-breaker. That means there is no 

continuing play on the ball - shooter takes shot, keeper makes his/her 

play on the ball - nothing more. In a situation like this (and in the 

tie-breaker penalty shots) the ball is in play until its momentum is 

spent, it goes out of bounds, or it crosses the goal line for a score.  

  

MIAA Tournament - Red Card Disqualification of a Coach 

The other question asked at the meeting is whether a tournament game is 

terminated if a coach is red-carded during the contest. The answer is 

yes. As the rule is written right now, when ANY coach (head or assistant) 

is red-carded the game is over and that team forfeits. Just write it up 

as to time, period, score, WHY and then depart the field. Do not start a 

discussion about the rule and the forfeit, its merits, etc... just leave 



the field. As we mentioned at the meeting, there is a movement to change 

this rule but it is at least a year away to being looked at. Let's hope 

we all use our officiating experience and skills to identify any 

situations that might result in a coach being red-carded and defuse them 

ahead of time. Stop the game and speak to the coach if you have to. The 

game is for and about the kids - an overzealous coach should not be the 

reason for not allowing a competition to be completed.  

  

Thanks for your time and good luck to those of you who are assigned to a 

tournament game. Get out and support your fellow officials during the 

tournament and we'll see everyone at the banquet on the 19th. 
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